The preference settings for the Mail function are:
Your Real Name - This field holds your name. This is not your email address or your username, but your real name.
Reply-To - Fill in this field with an email address if you need to have replies to your messages sent to an address other than the one your messages are sent from.
Automatic Signature when composing new mail - An automatic signature is a block of text that is appended to the end of your messages. Do not confuse an automatic signature with a written signature. The automatic signature is always in text form. Use it to personalize your messages with your name, place of work, a favorite quote, etc.
Wrap Lines at this many characters - This option controls how many characters are entered before wrapping to the next line. Alter this option if your display is too large or too small for the present setting. The default setting is 80 characters.
Number of Messages to index on one screen - The number of messages that can be viewed on one screen. The default number is 20. As the number of messages displayed on a screen increases, the time to load the page increases.
Default sort order for mail list - This option controls the default order in which to sort messages. Choices are date, from and subject.
Invert sort order - The default sort order is ascending. If you check this box, your sort order will be descending.
Delete and Expunge simultaneously - By default, when you delete a message, it remains in its folder and is marked with a trash can. To permanently delete the message, you click the "Empty Trash" link. By checking this option, you will skip the empty trash process, and the delete command permanently deletes the message without warning. Set this option with care, because once a message is deleted, it cannot be recovered.
Move and Expunge simultaneously - By default, when you move a message, it remains in its original folder and is marked with a trash can. Another copy is made in the folder the it was moved to. To permanently delete the original message, you click the "Empty Trash" link. By checking this option, you will skip the empty trash process, and the move command permanently deletes the original message. Set this option with care, because once a message is deleted, it cannot be recovered.
Save sent items - If this option is checked, a copy of each sent message will be stored in the "sent-mail" folder.
Save sent items in - If the "Save sent items" option is checked, this option allows you to choose the folder in which the sent mail copy is stored. The default is "sent-mail."
Save draft items in - This option allows you to choose the folder in which draft messages are stored. The default is "Drafts."
Display second command bar at bottom - The second command bar holds the "New Message," "Preferences" and other links. This option will allow this command bar to be displayed at the bottom of the page as well as its default top position.
Display messages in separate window - This option allows you to view your messages in a separate browser window. The default setting displays messages in the same window as the main Mail window.
Show contacts list when composing new messages - The contacts list by default is displayed at the top of the message editing page. If you prefer that the contacts list not be displayed on this page, ensure that this option is not checked. If this option is disabled, you will have to add your contacts one by one by continuously loading your "Contacts" page.
Default number of attachments on new messages This option allows you to select the number of attachments that new messages can automatically accept.
Show mail tree in main view This option will make a display of your existing mail folders available on the main Mail screen.
Expand mail tree by default If the "Show mail tree in main view" option is checked, this option will expand the list of your existing mail folders so that they are automatically visible on the main Mail screen.
Request Read Receipts This option allows you to request a read receipt from people who receive your email messages, so that they can notify you when they receive your email. Returning a read receipt is always voluntary, so you may not receive one.
Respond to Read Receipts This option allows you to decide how you will respond when someone requests a read receipt from you. Choices are Never, Manual and Always.
Never You will not know that a read receipt has been requested, and you will not have a chance to respond to it.
Manual - A Send RR now button will appear when you view a message for which a read receipt has been requested. If you click the button, you will send a read receipt back to the person who sent you the email.
Always When you view a message for which a read receipt has been requested, you will automatically return a read receipt, and will be notified that A Read Receipt has been automatically returned to the sender.
Include attachments when replying This option allows you to decide what will happen when you reply to a message that contains an attachment. If this option is checked, the attachment will be included with your reply.
Include attachments when forwarding This option allows you to decide what will happen when you forward a message that contains an attachment. If this option is checked, the attachment will be included with your forwarded message.
Number of body lines to display while composing a message This option allows you to control the size of the text box in which you compose your email messages. This does not limit the length of your messages. The default is 30 lines.
Always return to message list after deleting when viewing a message By default, when you delete the message you are viewing, you will view the next message. If this box is checked, you will return to the message list when you delete the message you are viewing.